LEEDv4 was finalized in 2013. It is less product-focused than LEEDv3 and places more emphasis on a structure’s performance. This has been done to encourage owners, architects and builders to construct buildings with a lower environmental impact through the use of sustainable materials and environmentally friendly design, construction and material manufacturing methods.

LEEDv4 includes the following building types:

  1. New Construction
  2. Core and Shell
  3. Schools
  4. Retail
  5. Data Centers
  6. Warehouses and Distribution Centers
  7. Hospitality
  8. Healthcare

There are now 8 categories in LEEDv4. Together they total 109 points and there is an additional point categorized as “Integrative Process.” A minimum of 40 points are necessary to earn LEEDv4 certification.

The categories are:

  1. Location and Transportation (16 points)
  2. Sustainable Sites (10 points)
  3. Water Efficiency (11 points)
  4. Energy and Atmosphere (33 points)
  5. Materials and Resources (13 points)
  6. Indoor Environmental Quality (16 points)
  7. Innovation (6 points)
  8. Regional Priority (4 points)

ICF’s and LEEDv4

ICF’s can potentially contribute to obtaining LEED points in categories 2,4,5 and 6 and depending on the building type, can contribute from 32 to 35 LEEDv4 points out of a total 110.

Leedv4 Point Qualifications (xlsx)